jump to navigation

Foundation Masterclass Part 3 – Your Tools Wednesday, June 18, 2008

Posted by kittylamour in Cometics, tutorial.
Tags: , ,
trackback

Now you’ve picked your foundation – how best to apply it? Gone are the days when your fingers would do, and even sponges seem to be hard done by, with everyone telling us we should be using a foundation brush, but which is best? This pic represents my selection of ‘base’ tools (click to see full-sized).

Although I’ll mainly be talking about foundation, I thought I’d include my two main powder brushes for those of you who use powder foundation (MMU or otherwise). Personally I am not a fan of the ‘buffing’ technique that many of the MMU companies advocate, I prefer to brush mine on in a simlar motion to how I would apply liquid foundation, controlling it over the areas that need it in a stroking motion. But, onto the tools for liquid.. First of all the most important thing – this is all about personal preference. I use both a brush and a sponge, there is no right or wrong, no matter what the magazines tell you. Foundation brushes are ‘fashionable’ right now, but I can hand on heart tell you that just as many professionals also use sponges, so it’s whatever works for you.

You can see that my foundation brushes are all different sizes. My QVS brush I prefer for cream foundation as it is thicker with more solid bristles, so you can get more ‘power’ behind it when working with a product that needs more blending. The Benefit brush is a little smaller, and one of my favourites. The tapered edge means it’s easier to get into areas like around the eyes, the edge of the nose etc. The Eyes Lips Face brush is a bit small for a full face but great for getting into tight areas and good if you are only applying foundation to certain parts of the face. It’s also good for applying a corrective concealer to larger areas.
As a general rule, I use a brush to apply creams and also to blend in stick foundation. I also use a brush to soften the look of liquid applied with a sponge. I used to use a brush all the time, but more recently I have gone back to using sponge wedges. They are cheap, and can generally be used up to 5 times before I ditch them. The best part is how flexible they are – they can get right into all the little tight areas around the nose and eyes. My advice is to get a cheaper foundation brush (the QVS one was about £3.99, the ELF one £1.50) and practice blending before you get a more expensive one, as a brush may not be for you. You tend to have to work a bit harder to remove any brush lines (although nasty, scratchy bristles will make it even harder – test the brush on your hand if you can before you buy) and it’s generally a little more work than a sponge.

The final tool is a separate concealer brush. I would recommend one of these whether you use a sponge or a brush for your foundation, and whether you use powder or liquid or cream. They are without doubt the best way to apply and blend concealer so that it matches in with the rest of your base (or just your skin). Make sure you get one with a big enough head – like the Benefit one here. Too small, and blending will be a pain. Remember, you’re not just covering the blemish, you want to feather the concealer out into the surrounding area so that it’s not obvious, so a concealer brush that’s only the size of the blemish you’re covering is no good.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

